Congratulations to Department of Religion Professor Norman Ravvin, named as one of seven prominent Canadian academics to conduct original research for the National Holocaust Task Force, a centralized body operating under the auspices of the League for Human Rights of B’nai Brith Canada.

President Judith Woodsworth was among the women honoured at a special luncheon held by the Desjardins Group on March 8 for International Women’s Day. They were selected from various sectors of activity for both their professional and social contribution to society. An etched crystal globe was presented to Woodsworth by Monique F. Leroux, Chair of the Board, President and Chief Executive Officer of Desjardins Group.

Magnifying glass

Photographer and professor emeritus Gabor Szilasi is among the eight winners of the 2010 Governor General’s Awards in Visual and Media Arts, announced by the Canada Council for the Arts at the Cinémathèque québécoise in Montreal, March 10. Szilasi taught at Concordia from 1979 to 1995.

Department of Communication Studies Professor Lorna Roth has returned from the Netherlands where she presented the Gerard Reteig Annual Lecture at the National Multicultural Television Network’s 25th Jubilee celebration event. She delivered her lecture, “Face Value, Skin Colour, and Intelligent Technologies” which focused on the recognition of skin colours within image technologies, and their bias towards primarily recognizing Caucasian skin tones. Following her talk, she was interviewed by Netherlands TV magazine and De Spreekbuis.

Congratulations to the JMSB team who brought home first place from the TD Financial Securities Case Competition, March 5 and 6 in Ottawa. The team was comprised of undergrads Jason Coviensky, Zhuo Ling and Andrei Sabau and their coaches Reena Atanasiadis, Christian Bonneau, Thomas Horvath and Amr Ezzat.

As well, congrats to four students in the Graduate Diploma in Chartered Accountancy Program for winning bursaries from Fondation des comptables agréés du Québec. Chosen as the program’s top students, Tedi Clair-Bookalam, Jillian Hodgson, Tatiana Averbuch and Alissa Weinstein each received a $1 500 award at a ceremony March 12 at the Montefiore Club.

On the occasion of her upcoming retirement from Concordia University, Director of the Office of the President Sandra Spina was honoured at a special reception of the Canadian Council for the Advancement of Education (CCAE) held recently at Fairmont the Queen Elizabeth.

CCAE is the professional association for educational advancement professionals representing more than 140 educational institutions Canada-wide. Spina is past President of CCAE and has been very active on the board for many years, including co-chairing the 2001 CCAE national conference held in Montreal. Among the speakers at the event were Concordia President Judith Woodsworth, as well as colleagues and friends from across the country.

MFA student and cinema lecturer. Steven Woloshen received a Quebec Jutra award nomination for his short film Playtime. This is Woloshen’s third Jutra nomination in the category of best animation.

Gabriel Bran Lopez (BA 08) was given the Emerging Leader award at the 23rd Annual Testimonial Awards by The Public Policy Forum, an independent not-for-profit organization dedicated to improving the quality of government in Canada through promoting dialogue among the public, private and voluntary sectors.


Concordia University