2009 Arts and Science Dean’s Awards 

Left to right: Arts and Science Dean Brian Lewis with winning professors Damon Matthews, Rosemary Reilly, Calvin Kalman, Patrick Leroux and Michel Dugas. Magnifying glass

Left to right: Arts and Science Dean Brian Lewis with winning professors Damon Matthews, Rosemary Reilly, Calvin Kalman, Patrick Leroux and Michel Dugas.

On Nov. 11, more than 50 gathered in the Hall Building Faculty Lounge for the fourth annual Arts and Science Dean’s Awards reception to honour six outstanding individuals for their lasting contribution to the university, the Faculty, their colleagues and students.

The first recognition of the afternoon went to psychology professor Michel Dugas, who was presented the Dean’s Award for Distinguished Scholarship; an acknowledgment of his body of published scholarly work that has brought greater recognition to the Faculty, both nationally and internationally.

Dugas’ research and practice focuses on anxiety and particularly the condition known as Generalized Anxiety Disorder (GAD). In the words of a colleague, Dugas is Canada’s best-known researcher in the field and one of a handful of scientists in the world who developed a psychological treatment for GAD.

The New Scholar awards, recognizing outstanding achievement by a tenure-track faculty member, were given to English and Études françaises professor Patrick Leroux and Department of Geography, Planning and Environment professor Damon Matthews.

Described as a “scholar, researcher and creative artist of great talent, ambition and accomplishment,” Leroux’s contributions to academic scholarship are due to his brilliant mind and remarkable intellectual energy, and his refusal to be bound by limits created by others.

Publishing his research in the most prestigious journals in his field, Matthews has established himself as a leader in climate stabilization, carbon cycle-climate feedbacks and land-cover change.

The three awards for Teaching Excellence were presented to physics professor Calvin Kalman, applied human sciences professor Rosemary Reilly and history professor Norman Ingram.

Recipient of the Concordia University Council on Student Life Teaching Award in 1998 and the Canadian Association of Physicists Medal for Excellence in Teaching in 1999, Kalman’s methods have succeeded in inspiring students to learn and understand physics, a subject most find challenging. Kalman, who has begun the fifth decade of his career, was described as “indefatigable”.

Amicably called ‘the Queen of Theory’ by her students for her extensive knowledge and her willingness to share her knowledge, Reilly is well-known for her commitment to students, TAs and her mentorship of junior faculty that often goes well beyond the call of duty.

Ingram, currently on sabbatical and unable to attend, was honoured for his passion in his field and his unlimited commitment to his students, both individually and collectively, and to his engagement with the study of history. Quoting from Ingram’s teaching philosophy statement, Lewis characterized his approach saying, “history is not a limited antiquarianism, but a dynamic field of discovery and debate.”

Since 2005, the Arts and Science Dean’s Awards have paid tribute to 27 faculty and staff members.


Concordia University